top of page

The Jewish Choir Klezmerlech

Klezmerlech Logo.png

Klezmerlech Jewish Choir eV
choir rehearsals

every Sunday
from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m

Israeli dances
we meet

every Thursday
from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m

more information under

contact form

chor klezmerlech2006verkl.jpg

Our choir

was founded in 1999 in the Jewish community of Hamburg. Since 2003 the choir has functioned independently. He has been cooperating with the Liberal Jewish Community in Hamburg since 2004 and provides music for community events. The choir has around 20 members, most of whom come from the former Soviet Union. The aim and task of our choir are: to make Yiddish songs of the 19th century and modern Israeli songs and dances popular.

The performances look like small, musical productions. A beautiful combination of texts, songs, dances and klezmer music is presented to the viewer. Colorful images of Jewish life are reminiscent of the not entirely forgotten tradition of klezmer music. Some choir members experienced this tradition in their childhood and are now continuing it. This builds a bridge between old and new generations and culture is not forgotten.

Many performances in Hamburg, Flensburg, Kiel, Lübeck and Bremen, in German, Yiddish and Russian, have inspired many people. The art was to touch the viewer's soul and arouse their emotions. During the performances, no one in the audience remained indifferent. Afterwards, many people came to say thank you. It is important for us not only to offer Jewish people a cultural home, but also to arouse interest in Jewish culture and history among non-Jewish viewers. Lately our concerts have been attended more and more by younger people.

gala19.05.08_Chor Klezmerlech Austellung.jpg

Galina Jarkova, musical direction

was born in 1970 in Odessa (Ukraine). She graduated from the Ippolitov-Iwanov Music School in Moscow and then studied flute at the State Pedagogical Academy of Music in Moscow. In 1988 she was a prizewinner in the State Competition for Woodwind Instruments in Moscow.

Since 1989 she has given concerts as a soloist and as a member of various chamber music ensembles in Russia, and from 1995 also in Germany. After emigrating to Germany, she continued her education at the University of Music and Theater in Hamburg. There she completed her studies with a diploma in June 1999. Since 1998 she has been giving solo concerts "Klezmer meets flute". Since 1996 she has also been the musical director, composer and musician of the play-along theater “Kolobok”. In 1999 Galina Jarkova founded the choir "Klezmerlech" and successfully directs performances in Hamburg and Northern Germany.

 

Galina Jarkova has recorded 2 children's musicals on CD and published 2 songbooks "Yiddish Songs in Jewish and Russian". In 2004 she received a special award from Federal President Johannes Rau for her commitment and was invited to the Federal President's New Year's reception on January 7, 2004 at Belleveu Palace in Berlin.

janna.jpg

Yanna Jarkova, author

was born in Odessa (Ukraine) in 1938. She was a doctor by profession. During World War II she was evacuated with her family to a place near Cheliabinsk (Central Russia) where many Jews from Belarus, Ukraine and the Baltic States lived. The grandfather was very religious and gathered all the Jews of this place in his apartment. They prayed together and sang Yiddish songs. Janna Jarkova learned these songs back then and still knows them today. She thinks that every song contains a part of life. It is important to understand what each song is about. Janna Jarkova is happy to have found a new form of performances to convey the atmosphere of ancient Jewish festivals to the audience.

musik_foto3.jpg

Klara Grinstejn, soloists

was born in Bobrujsk (Belarus) in 1933. She only heard Yiddish songs and language on the streets and in shops. It was forbidden to speak Yiddish at home because the father was a member of the communist party. Klara Grinstejn graduated from the Leningrad Conservatory with a diploma in piano. Since then she has been teaching piano for children and giving various concerts, workshops and music events for children and parents. She only started singing on stage in the “Klezmerlech” choir. In doing so, she discovered her great inclination towards Yiddish songs and developed an extraordinary mastery.

Our dance group

Israeli dance is an important part of Jewish culture that connects people, creates a benevolent atmosphere, and lifts spirits. These dances are part of our cultural heritage, which means that people who don't know each other can dance them together immediately - even if they come from different countries or cities.

The leaders of the dance groups met each other mainly at the dance seminars in Bad Soberheim from the ZwST under the direction of Tiorza Hodos. We want to pass on this beautiful experience of dancing together, the positive, good atmosphere, the feeling of friendship, joy and cheerfulness to our successors.

transparent dance.png
press releases

Radio Swoboda festival reportage.

The show is in Russian.
2012

Our first appearances

Der Jüdische Chor Klezmerlech

Klezmerlech Logo.png

Klezmerlech Jüdischer Chor e.V.
Chorproben

jeden Sonntag
von 11:00 bis 13:00 Uhr

Israelische Tänze
wir treffen uns

jeden Donnerstag
von 16:00 bis 18:00 Uhr

Mehr Information unter

Kontaktformular

chor klezmerlech2006verkl.jpg

Unser Chor

wurde 1999 in der Jüdischen Gemeinde Hamburg gegründet. Seit 2003 funktioniert der Chor selbstständig. Seit 2004 kooperiert er mit der Liberalen Jüdischen Gemeinde Hamburg und begleitet Gemeinde-veranstaltungen musikalisch. Der Chor hat ca. 20 Mitglieder, die meisten von ihnen kommen aus der ehemaligen Sowjet Union. Ziel und Aufgabe unseres Chores sind: Jiddische Lieder des 19.Jahrhunderts und moderne Israelische Lieder und Tänze populĠr zu machen.

Die Aufführungen sehen wie kleine, musikalische Inszenierungen aus. Eine schöne Kombination aus Texten, Liedern, Tänzen und Klezmermusik wird dem Zuschauer vor Augen geführt. Farbenfrohe Bilder jüdischen Lebens erinnern an die noch nicht ganz vergessene Tradition der Klezmermusik. Einige Chormitglieder haben sie noch in ihrer Kindheit erlebt, diese Tradition, und führen sie jetzt fort. Damit wird die Brücke zwischen alten und neuen Generationen geschlagen und die Kultur nicht vergessen.

Viele Aufführungen in Hamburg, Flensburg, Kiel, Lübeck und Bremen, in deutscher, jiddischer und russischer Sprache haben viele Menschen begeistert. Die Kunst dabei war, die Seele der Zuschauer zu berühren und ihre Emotionen zu wecken. Während der Aufführungen blieb im Publikum niemand gleichgültig. Anschließend kamen viele Menschen zu uns, um sich zu bedanken. Wichtig für uns ist nicht nur jüdischen Menschen eine kulturelle Heimat zu bieten, sondern auch bei den nicht-jüdischen Zuschauern Interesse für jüdische Kultur und Geschichte zu wecken. In letzter Zeit wurden unsere Konzerte auch mehr und mehr von jüngeren Leuten besucht.

gala19.05.08_Chor Klezmerlech Austellung.jpg

Galina Jarkova, Musikalische Leitung

wurde 1970 in Odessa (Ukraine) geboren. Sie absolvierte die Musikfachschule Ippolitow-Iwanow in Moskau und studierte anschließend Querflöte an der staatlichen Pädagogischen Musikakademie in Moskau. Sie wurde Preisträgerin im Landeswettbewerb für Holzblassinstrumente in Moskau im Jahre 1988.

Seit 1989 gab sie Konzerte als Solistin und als Mitglied verschiedener Kammermusikensembles in Russland, und ab 1995 auch in Deutschland. Nach ihrer Auswanderung nach Deutschland setzte sie ihre Ausbildung an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg fort. Dort schloss sie ihr Studium mit einem Diplom im Juni 1999 ab. Seit 1998 gibt sie Solo-Konzerte „Klezmer meets Querflöte“. Seit 1996 ist sie auch Musikalische Leiterin, Komponistin und Musikerin des Mitspieltheaters „Kolobok“. 1999 gründete Galina Jarkova den Chor „Klezmerlech“ und leitet erfolgreich Aufführungen in Hamburg und Norddeutschland.

 

Galina Jarkova hat 2 Kindermusicals auf CD eingespielt und 2 Liederbücher „Jiddische Lieder in jüdisch und russisch“ herausgegeben. 2004 wurde sie von Bundespräsident Johannes Rau für ihr Engagement besonders ausgezeichnet und zum Neujahresempfang des Bundespräsidenten am 7.Januar 2004 ins Schloß Belleveu in Berlin eingeladen.

janna.jpg

Janna Jarkova, Autor

wurde 1938 in Odessa (Ukraine) geboren. Sie war von Beruf Ärztin. Während des 2. Weltkrieges wurde sie mit ihrer Familie in einen Ort in der Nähe von Tscheliabinsk (Mittelrußland) evakuiert, in dem viele Juden aus Weißrussland, Ukraine und den Baltischen Staaten lebten. Der Großvater war sehr glüubig und versammelte alle Juden dieses Ortes in seiner Wohnung. Sie haben zusammen gebetet und Jiddische Lieder gesungen. Diese Lieder hat Janna Jarkova damals gelernt und kennt sie noch heute. Sie meint, dass jedes Lied einen Ausschnitt des Lebens in sich birgt. Dabei ist es wichtig zu verstehen worum es in den einzelnen Liedern geht. Janna Jarkova freut sich, ein neues Form im Rahmen der Aufführungen gefunden zu haben, um darin den Zuschauern die Atmosphäre der alten jüdischen Feste zu vermitteln.

musik_foto3.jpg

Klara Grinstejn, Solisten

wurde 1933 in Bobrujsk (Weißrussland) geboren. Jiddische Lieder und Sprache hat sie nur auf Straßen und in den Geschäften gehärt. Zu Hause war es verboten, jiddisch zu sprechen, weil der Vater Mitglied der kommunistischen Partei war. Klara Grinstejn absolvierte das Konservatorium in Leningrad mit dem Diplomabschluß im Fach Klavier. Seitdem unterrichtet sie Klavier für Kinder und gibt verschiedene Konzerte, Workshops und Musikveranstaltungen für Kinder und Eltern. Erst im Chor „Klezmerlech“ hat sie angefangen, auf der Bühne zu singen. Dabei hat sie ihre große Neigung zu jiddischen Liedern entdeckt und eine außergewöhnliche Meisterschaft entwickelt.

Unsere Tanzgruppe

Der israelische Tanz ist ein wichtiger Teil der jüdischen Kultur, der die Menschen verbindet, eine wohlwollende Atmosphäre schafft und die Stimmung hebt. Diese Tänze gehören zu unserem Kulturgut, das bedeutet, dass einander vollkommen unbekannte Menschen sie sofort zusammen tanzen können – mögen sie auch aus verschiedenen Ländern oder Städten kommen.

Die Leiterinnen der Tanzgruppen haben sich überwiegend bei den Tanzseminaren in Bad Soberheim von der ZwST unter der Leitung von Tiorza Hodos kennen gelernt. Wir wollen unseren Nachfolgerinnen dieses schöne Erlebnis des gemeinsamen Tanzens, die positive, gute Atmosphäre, das Gefühl der Freundschaft, der Freude und der Heiterkeit gern weitergeben.

transparent dance.png
Pressemitteilungen

Radio Swoboda Festivalreportage.

Die Sendung ist auf russisch.
2012

Unsere Erste Auftritte

60 Jahre Israel 2008